The Entrapped Soul!

A poem I wrote when I started rhyming and was in tenth grade… I remember reading the Diary of Anne Frank and imagining myself in her situation!

That was the inspiration behind this one 🙂

 Though childish posting it here for the memory’s sake!

Dedication to all the trapped souls out there… It is never too late to break free and to let your spirit soar!

I am a caged bird,

longing to touch the sky,

feeling the cool breeze pass by…!!!

I am a caged bird,

wishing to drip in the rain,

aahh…but sadly in vain…!!!

I am a caged bird,

Who wants to bask in d sun,

chirping wid others havin fun…!!!

I am a caged bird,

dreaming of far away woods,

full of blooming flowers n shoots…!!!

I am a caged bird,

who craves to touch the rainbow,

Oh how…alas! she doesn’t simply know…!!!

I am a caged bird,

wanting while smelling the fresh earth,

To welcome the arriving drizzle out on the open heath…!!!

I am a caged bird,

who is waiting every passing moment,

to live the life of a free spirit and not to lament…!!!

I am a caged bird,

Who views the world from behind the bars,

but someday still wishes to reach to the stars…!!!

I am a caged bird,

Who is waiting to feel the glee,

of finally somehow being able to flee…!!!

I am a caged bird,

Oh! how I wish and how I long,

To fly under the sun and the skies, singing a song…!!!

I am a caged bird,

leading a life as slow as a cart,

while no one seems to notice that I also own a heart.

I am a caged bird,

tell me what can I do when I see others glide,

except letting ma hot tears slide…!!!

I am a caged bird,

Who wants to soar upto great heights,

To feel the thrill of a long lovely flight…!!!

I am a caged bird,

How I wanna go beyond ma limits,

Though deep down I know how damn impossible it is…!!!

I am a caged bird,

Who believes that every cloud has a silver lining,

And so hopes to feel the heat of the round sun shining…!!!

I am a caged bird,

Who is really really lonely and tired,

Of living all alone in the round cage wired…!!!

I am a caged bird,

And I wonder how b’ful will the sunset look,

while quenching the thirst from a fresh water brook…!!!

I am a caged bird,

ask me how hard it is to wear a smile so fake on your face,

trying to hide gloom by not letting your tears leave any trace…!!!

I am a caged bird,

Who everyday tries her best to hide,

her hurting, burning, weeping inside…!!!

I am a caged bird,

Who hopes sorrow to be a momentary tide that will pass away,

To bring times that will be merry and gay…!!!

I am a caged bid,

Who’s life can now be called a dusk,

or a petty,worthlesss husk…!!!

I am a caged bird,

I don’t really know how to let you know…

my state of loneliness, Oh! how can I show…!!!

I am a caged bird,

I just need some breaths of fresh air,

but truly no one seems to care…!!!

I am a caged bird,

The more and more I yearn for happiness,

The more does ma life’s path move into darkness…!!!

I am a caged bird,

I dunno how very long will I have to wait,

but I am helpless with ma present suffering and fate…!!!

I am a caged bird,

or as someone rightly said a silent lamp,

Who spreads smiles n happiness while having her own eyes damp…!!!

I am a caged bird,

And though God gets me fed and watered,

my grief never ends that….

“I AM A CAGED BIRD…!!!”

~Vina…

Leave a Reply

