All we need is a Ray of Hope!

This is the post excerpt.

We are born into a childhood brimming with fantasies and fairytales, of magical miracles and happily ever afters, of fairies and princesses, of blacks and whites and of rights and wrongs.

But Alas! life happens and we spurt into adulthood. In a world of responsibilities and a whirlwind of chaotic happenings, the life of a layman idly passes by. The blacks and whites merge into various shades of greys.

Amidst all these, here I am wondering what to make of this world that threatens to swallow me up, like a straw in a haystack.

While political biggies fight over anything else but the issues relevant, while media glosses hours over a celebrity’s private life ignorant to the pleas of the deprived, while love and kindness are traded for pennies, while family talks are just limited to phoney posts, while friends and kin are just a number on your social page, while sports are limited to just those on the keyboard…My mind is wrapped in a cocoon of uncertainty and helplessness over what we are turning the world into.

It is like being a kite in the cloudy sky, eagerly awaiting sunshine to pierce through to make you shine and suddenly realising that the sun is just a myth.

All around I hear words of reassurance and promises of a better tomorrow, from everyone from the most powerful leader in the world to my mother, but how it is to happen is what I fret over the most.

I like to think of a guardian fairy popping up and waving the wand over the world to put it to rights.

Then somewhere I come across the words:

All that is required to change the world is one act of random kindness at a time.

The thought has made me see the world in a new light ever since.

I now see big corporates quitting there jobs to spend the rest of their lives in villages, I now see youngsters willing to explore the ancient treasures of yoga and spiritual heritage, I now find people craving to keep in touch with their roots inspite of living in another continent, I now see people cutting down on festivities to donate to charities, I find people willing to share their homes with the abandoned, and I discover that goodness is still present in the world in all forms, albeit being hidden under an invisibility cloak, visible to only those who seek it.

The biggest change that has to occur has to be in us, I now realise.

I have now found that the magical ingredient to a great life is nothing but a pinch of hope and I plan to stick to it.

We just need to believe that it is all that is inside that matters and let that ray of hope shine through the thick cloudy skies to give meaning to our otherwise bland life.

If we have hope, nothing is lost. Let the same into all lives possible and you will do your bit of good in the world.

I will now live life in ‘one random act of kindness a day’ way.

HOPEfully,

Vina.

C360_2015-05-14-22-45-25-197.jpg

Pic taken by me at a beach in Kerala.

Leave a Reply

